Reading PAL

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Shape of Mercy by Susan Meissner July 15, 2009

Filed under: Book Review,Giveaways — pattyleblanc @ 10:22 pm
Tags: , , ,

Summary

mercybook1Leaving a life of privilege to strike out on her own, Lauren Durough breaks with her family’s expectations by taking a part-time job from eighty-three-year-old librarian Abigail Boyles. The mysterious employer asks Lauren to transcribe the journal entries of her ancestor, Mercy Hayworth, a victim of the Salem witch trials.

Immediately, Lauren finds herself drawn to this girl who lived and died four centuries ago. As the fervor around the witch accusations increases, Mercy becomes trapped, unable to fight the overwhelming influence of snap judgments and superstitions. Lauren realizes that the secrets of Mercy’s story extend beyond the pages of her diary, living on in the mysterious, embittered Abigail.

The strength of her affinity with mercy forces Lauren to take a startling new look at her own life, including her relationships with Abigail, her college roommate, and a young man named Raul. But on the way to the truth, will Lauren find herself playing the helpless defendant or the misguided judge?

Can she break free from her own perceptions and see who she really is?

My Review

Lauren is a college student who has no worries about money, yet she wants to prove to herself she doesn’t need it and lives at the dorm. She seeks out a job and finds herself transcribing a diary written by Mercy, a woman who was accused of being a witch during the Salem Witch Trials. Just as Lauren enveloped herself in Mercy’s story, I found myself eager to turn “just one more page” to see what happens next. There were many messages in this story to all of us of learning who we really are and what drives us. It made me think about myself and how I view others. For Lauren this was a journey of self-discovery. I could relate to Lauren in some aspects of her character, and it made me love the story all the more. I would highly recommend this book. It gave me a desire to learn more about the Salem Witch Trials and what really happened during that time. There is definitely a spiritual element as well, which I would never have even thought about. This is a great book that will definitely be passed around.

susan meissner

Author Bio:

Susan Meissner has been feeding her love of writing all her life. Her first novelWhy the Sky is Blue, was released in 2004, after she resigned her post as editor for a local newspaper in a rural Minnesota town. Since that time she has had eight books published and she moved to San Diego, where she lives with her family.

 

Susan has graciously agreed to give away a copy, so if you would like to win a copy of The shape of Mercy please post a message leaving your email in coded form to avoid spam such as patty[at]aol[dot]com. The drawing will be on July 19th.

 

8 Responses to “The Shape of Mercy by Susan Meissner”

  1. Cheryl Says:

    I would love to win a copy of this book. Please enter me in the contest.

  2. Kristen Says:

    Great review Patty! The book sounds really interesting. Please put me in the drawing. kristenbivens[at]hotmail[dot]com. Thanks!

  3. Linda Says:

    So hope I win this one. So many good reviews. Please enter me. Thank you.

  4. Stacy :) Says:

    Hi Patty, 🙂

    I am proud of your reviews – very well done. This sounds like another good book that I’d enjoy reading; however, I first need to read July’s book club book! Eek. Please put my name in the drawing, anyhow…

    You’re the best!

    Stacy

  5. Bev Says:

    Wow, amazing sounding book. I throughly enjoyed your review. It made me want to pick the book right up and open it as soon as it arrives. (If I win that is.) If I don’t win this will definitely be on my read list, even if it wasn’t the book of the month on acfw group. Thank you for the opportunity.

    b (dot) werts (at) sbcglobal (dot) net

  6. pattyleblanc Says:

    And the winner is Bev. I will notify by email and give five days to respond. If you do not respond, I will pick another winner.

  7. Bev Says:

    Patty, woohoo. I won the book. Thank Susan for donating the book. Thank you for hosting the drawing. I have contacted you privately by email. Thanks again.

    bev

  8. Mary Says:

    I would love to win a copy of The Shape of Mercy. I have never read this author before, but the book sounds like one that I would enjoy.


Leave a Reply

