Reading PAL

Just another WordPress.com weblog

What the Bayou Saw by Patti Lacy November 29, 2009

Filed under: Book Review — pattyleblanc @ 12:52 am
Tags: , ,

Summary:

Since leaving Lousiana, Sally Stevens has held her childhood secrets at bay, smothering them in a sunny disposition and sugar-coated lies. No one, not even her husband, Sam, has heard the truth about what happened when she was almost twelve years old.

Now a teacher in Illinois, Sally has nearly forgotten the past. But when one of her students is violently attacked, Sally’s memories of segregation, a chain-link fence, and a blood oath bubble to the surface like a dead body in a bayou. Lies continue to tumble from Sally’s lips as she scrambles to gloss over harsh reality. Finally cornered by her deceit and nudged by the Holy Spirit, she resolves to face the truth, whatever the consequences.

Author Bio:

Patti Lacy graduated from Baylor University with a B.S. in education. She taught at Heartland Community College in Normal, Illinois until 2006, when she began to pursue wriwting full-time. She has two grown children and lives in Illinois with her husband, Alan, and a dog named Laura.

 

My Review:

All I can say is wow to this book. Two thumbs up to Patti Lacy for creating this story. Sally is the main character in this book. She has built her life around lies that she has so deceptively created that she can’t remember what the truth is. That is until a tragic event at the school where she works as a teacher occurs that brings her right back to the reason she created all these lies in the first place. Her lies finally come full circle when she begins to tell her story and realizes what she needs to do to find closure. This is a tale that includes racism, some history, and fabulous characters. I felt the pain of the characters throughout the book and it made me feel as if I just wanted to be there for them and make the hurt go away. I loved this book. Patti Lacy took me to a place within the pages of this book that created a whole new view of events that occurred in our history. Some things I just never realized, and it takes reading about it maybe in a different way to bring it to the forefront. Definitely a book I would highly recommend.

As an influencer for this book, I have received a copy to read and review. My review is not biased by the fact that I was given this book. I HONESTLY read and review any book whether bought or given to me. If I did not like the book I would definitely not give a rave review or recommend it.

 

5 Responses to “What the Bayou Saw by Patti Lacy”

  1. Patti Lacy Says:

    Wow, I had no idea you were posting this, just wanted to drop you a note re MY new blog.

    When you have time, stop by at http://www.pattilacy.com/blog and leave your blog address so it’ll be in my record.

    Blessings,
    Patti

  2. Julie Says:

    Patty, I am in total agreement on the two thumbs up on Patti Lacy’s incredible book — “WOW” is certainly an appropriate word to describe this remarkable reading experience. To me, Patti is clearly one of the best women’s fiction writers out there, and I have devoured each of her books. Bring on the next one, Patti, because I cannot wait!

    Hugs,
    Julie

  3. I must get this book…..I have a gift card and it will be my purchase with it. I loved “An Irishwoman’s Tale” and really want to know Sally’s story. And then, after, I am going to share both books with someone….I don’t know who it will be, but keeping these lovely, God-filled books for myself suddenly seems quite selfish.

    Blessings!!

  4. Patti Lacy Says:

    Gayla, you are sooo sweet! I love having you follow my blog. You have visited my website since about Day 1 and have sent some others my way.

    It’s readers like you who….are keeping our books in bookstores!!!!!

    Thank YOU, Patty, for posting this!!!
    You too, Julie!!!

  5. Cheryl Says:

    I loved Patti’s first book and I would love to win a copy of What the Bayou Saw. Please enter me in the contest. Thank you Patty.


Leave a Reply

