Reading PAL

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Watch Over Me by Christa Parrish February 8, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — pattyleblanc @ 4:38 am
Tags: , ,

Summary: Deputy Benjamin Patil is the one to find the infant girl, hours old, abandoned in a field. As police work to identify the mother, Ben and his wife, Abbi, seem like the obvious couple to serve as foster parents. But the newborn’s arrival opens old wounds for Abbi and shines a harsh light on how much Ben has changed since a devastating military tour. Their marriage teeters on the brink, and now they must choose to reclaim what they once had or lose each other forever.

Author Bio:  A past winner of Associated Press awards for her hournalism, Christa Parrish now teaches literature and writing to high school students, is a homeschool mom, and lives near Saratoga Springs, New York. Her first novel, Home Another Way, was a finalist for athe 2009 ECPA Christian Book Award for fiction.

My Review: I really liked the writing in this book. I had not read a book by Christa Parrish before this, but I enjoyed this one so much that I plan on reading Home Another Way also. Abbi as a character was sometimes a person I loved tremendously and also struggled with her thoughts and ideas. I understood her reasoning for the choices she made, but didn’t always agree with them. Abbi struggles with the changes in her husband and their relationship, and they have many things to work through to get their marriage back to functioning. Will having a baby arrive in their home be the thing to make things right or will it destroy what is left of their flailing marriage? I was drawn into this story by many aspects of it, and I would highly recommend it to anyone. I look forward to reading another one of her books.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher to read and review. My review is not biased by the fact that I was given this book. I HONESTLY read and review any book whether bought or given to me. If I did not like the book I would definitely not give a rave review or recommend it.

 

Leave a Reply

