Reading PAL

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Rose Legacy by Kristen Heitzmann May 24, 2010

Summary: Fleeing her idyllic home in Sonoma, California, Carina Maria DiGratia journeys to the mining town of Crystal, Colorado. Clinging to hopes of a new life, she finds reality has a harsh welcome for her. Overrun with men seeking their fortune and women bound by circumstance, the town hosts both dreams and nightmares, with little surety for tomorrow. But at least here Carina is far from the betrayal that still pierces her heart.

Early on, two men vie for her trust, but neither is what he seems. Will Carina discern the truth and confront the turmoil hidden in her own heart in time to prevent tragedy?

Author Bio: Kristen Heitzmann is the bestselling author of seventeen novels, including Freefall, Halos, A Rush of Wings, The Edge of Recall and the Christy Award winner Secrets. She and her husband, Jim, and their family live in Colorado Springs, Colorado, where she serves as worship leader in their church. Visit Kristen’s website at www.kristenheitzmann.com. This book was published by Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

My Review: This is the first book in the Diamond of the Rockies series. I was unaware that this book was actually published in the year 2000. It now has a new bright and beautiful cover that presents itself as more appealing to the current readers. I have read many Kristen Heitzmann books and loved every one of them. This one did not disappoint either. I found this book to be very enjoyable. It had so much action in it that I had a hard time putting it down. I love books that keep you guessing what’s going to happen next, so much so that you have to continue reading no matter how long it takes just to satisfy your longing to know. I enjoy historical fiction, so this book suited me perfectly. Set in the 1880s this is sure to please any lover of the “good old days” when things were quite simple yet many worlds apart from what we know today. I was disappointed in the ending, but it was an ending that kept me wanting to read the next installment in the series. Since this is re-published, I don’t have to wait for it to come out so that definitely is a positive. I look forward to reading Sweet Boundless and the continuing story of Carina and Quillan.

I received a copy of this book to read and review from the publisher. My review is not biased by the fact that I was given this book. I HONESTLY read and review any book whether bought or given to me. If I did not like the book I would definitely not give a rave review or recommend it.

 

Leave a Reply

