Reading PAL

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A few more reviews to finish July 2, 2010

SOMEWHERE TO BELONG BY JUDITH MILLER

Summary: Johanna Ilg has lived her entire life in Main Amana, one of the seven villages settled by devout Christians who believe in cooperative living, a simple lifestyle, and faithful service to God. Although she’s always longed to see the outside world, Johanna believes her future is rooted in Amana. but when she learns a troubling secret, the world she thought she knew is shattered. Is this truly where she belongs?

Berta Schumacher has lived a privileged life in Chicago, so when her parents decide they want a simpler life in Amana, Iowa, she resists. Under the strictures of the Amana villages, her rebellion reaches new heights. Will her heart ever be content among the plain people of Amana?

Author Bio: Judith Miller is an award-winning author whosse avid research and love for history are reflected in her novels, many of which have appeared on the CBA bestseller lists. Judy and her husband make their home in Topeka, Kansas.

My Review: I have a great love for historical fiction and for Judith Miller books, so of course I had to read this one. This is the first book in the Daughters of Amana series. Once again Judith Miller did a fantastic job with drawing me into the storyline. Combine two totally different personalities and a series of events, secrets, and family; and you will get a story that will captivate your attention. I look forward to the next installment in the Daughters of Amana series.

I received a copy of this book to read and review from the publisher. My review is not biased by the fact that I was given this book. I HONESTLY read and review any book whether bought or given to me. If I did not like the book I would definitely not give a rave review or recommend it.

HEARTS AWAKENING BY DELIA PARR

Summary: Life has left few choices for Elvira Kilmer. Her hopes for marriage and a family of her own have long since passed her by, and her arrival on Dillon’s Island, nestled in the Susquehanna river, is not of her choosing, either. She needs work. And Jackson Smith needs a housekeeper.

Jackson, on the other hand, has never met anyone quite so…plain. But he quickly comes to realize that Ellie’s presence may solve his own problems–both the rearing of his young boys and the scandal that surrounds his first marriage.

When Jackson offers her something quite out of the ordinary, will Ellie look beyond mere necessity and risk opening her heart?

Author Bio: Delia Parr, pen name for Mary Lechleidner, is the author of 10 historical novels and the winner of several awards, including the Laurel Wreath Award for Historical Romance and the Aspen Gold Award for Best Inspirational Book. She is a full-time high school teacher who spends her summer vacations writing and kayaking. The mother of three grown children, she lives in Collingswood, New Jersey. Visit www.deliaparr.com for more information.

My Review: This was a great story. It was definitely something I would never have thought of, but that’s what makes a great story. I don’t think I have ever read a book where the character was described as plain. I found that rather interesting. I love the strong character that Ellie posesses. She has been through so much that does not seem to be fair to any person, and yet she retains her faith in God. I have read other books by Delia Parr and liked them just as much as this one. I would recommend books by Delia Parr to anyone.

I received a copy of this book to read and review from the publisher. My review is not biased by the fact that I was given this book. I HONESTLY read and review any book whether bought or given to me. If I did not like the book I would definitely not give a rave review or recommend it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

