Reading PAL

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Finding Jeena by Miralee Ferrell July 8, 2010

Filed under: Book Review — pattyleblanc @ 3:55 am
Tags: , , ,

Summary: Jeena Gregory thought she’d made it. She has everything a woman could ask for and a budding career promises more. But when rumors around town cast her boss in a shady light, Jeena starts to question her employer’s integrity. Was she wrong to trust this man and this job?

When the boss disappears, salaries go upaid, and Jeena overhears several hush-hush phone calls, she realizes her carefully crafted world is crumbling. Shaken to the core at the threat of losign everything, Jeena is suddenly confronted with her prejudices–and with a God she had long forgotten.

Author Bio: Miralee Ferrell is the acclaimed author of The Other Daughteer; Love Finds You in Last Chance, California; and Love Finds You in Bridal Veil, Oregon. She lives in Washington with Allen, her husband of more than 37 years, and has two grown children. She serves on staff at her local church and is actively involved in ministry to women. Read more at www.MiraleeFerrell.com.

My Review: I absolutely loved this novel, though I am begrudgingly writing this review, not for lack of good storyline but for fear of what I may reveal of my own not so pretty character. This novel came too close to home on so many levels and reached into my heart to make me take a look at myself that I didn’t really want to see or even believe was there. Jeena is a lot like me and we have a similar story. Jeena grew up not having much and therefore strived to achieve the best for herself. In doing so, she tried to forget what and who she was before and put herself higher than she was. What was most important to her was herself. When Jeena found herself in a situation she could never have imagined, she found out about her own true character and did not like what she saw. As I said before, this is what “Finding Jeena” has done for me. I see a lot of the attitudes that Jeena had reflected in myself. I think when you see certain things in another person you may not always see them in yourself until they are pointed out to you. This novel has become one of my favorites because I do believe that it has impacted my life. I hope to make some changes in my life with the help of God guiding me to be a better person and look at people the way he sees them. I would highly recommend this book to anyone because I believe it can speak to just about any person who reads it. The storyline was heartfelt and engaging. It drew me into the story and gave me a dose of reality that was much needed. Funny how God works sometimes isn’t it?

I received a copy of this book to read and review from the author. My review is not biased by the fact that I was given this book. I HONESTLY read and review any book whether bought or given to me. If I did not like the book I would definitely not give a rave review or recommend it.

 

One Response to “Finding Jeena by Miralee Ferrell”

  1. Hi Patty,

    Thank you for your honesty and transparency in your review. I’m so glad you enjoyed my newest book and appreciate you reading and taking the time to share your thoughts.

    God bless,

    Miralee Ferrell


Leave a Reply

