Reading PAL

Just another WordPress.com weblog

An Unusual Topic February 22, 2011

Filed under: Book Review — pattyleblanc @ 1:03 am
Tags: , , , ,

Summary: Battling his own personal demons, Police Chief Jonah Westfall has experienced the dark side of life and is committed to eradicating it. When a pair of raccoons are found mutilated in Redford, Colorado, Jonah investigates the gruesome act, seeking to unmask the perpetrator before the crime escalates and destroys the tranquility of his small mountain town. Jonah fights for answers–and his fragile sobriety–amid a rising drug threat and never-ending conflict with Tia Manning, a formidable childhood friend with whom he has more than a passing history.

But he can’t penetrate every wound or secret–especially one fueled by a love and guilt teetering on madness.

From best-selling author Kristen heitzmann comes a spellbinding tale of severed connections and the consequences of life lived alone.

Author Bio: While homeschooling her four kids, Kristen Heitzmann wrote her first novel, and it grew into a five-book historical series. Since then, she has written more historical novels and several contemporary romantic and psychological suspense novels, including The Still of Night, nominated for the Colorado Book Award; The Tender Vine, a Christy Award finalist; and the Christy Award-winning Secrets. She lives in Colorado with her husband, Jim, and sundry family members and pets. To find out more about this author and other books she has written visit her website at www.kristenheitzmannbooks.com.

My Review: I had a very difficult time getting into this book. I found there to be so many characters introduced in the beginning that I was getting confused. The storyline itself also took me a while to get into. Once it got going I was curious to see what was happening, but it still was just something I couldn’t quite hang onto. That being said, I have read many novels by this author and loved them all so I would recommend her books. Overall, this was still a good book to read, just not one of my all time favorites.

At the very beginning I wondered where the storyline was going when a pair of racoons were found sewn together. This personally for me was very difficult to fathom because I love animals. Jonah is the local police chief in a small Colorado town and it becomes his job to solve this crime. As it continues to happen, the local mayor wants Jonah to let it slide so as not to give their town bad publicity. In the midst of all this is Tia who has a history with Jonah and lives in this small town as well. She also has her own past to deal with. Between the two of them, they have issues that they can’t quite get past and neither one of them is happy.

This was truly a departure from what I usually read, and it was a little hard for me to follow, although I did want to know the outcome so I kept reading. The ending was definitely something unexpected.

I received a copy of this book to read and review from the publisher. My review is not biased by the fact that I was given this book. I HONESTLY read and review any book whether bought or given to me. If I did not like the book I would definitely not give a rave review or recommend it.

To see other books by this publisher and read other reviews visit  www.waterbrookmultnomah.com.

 

Leave a Reply

