Reading PAL

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Blog Tour for Bound by Guilt by C.J. Darlington March 25, 2011

Summary: Roxi Gold is a throwaway, shuttled from one foster home to another for most of her life. She longs for a family and will do anything to fit in–even if it’s against the law. Soon she’s traveling the country stealing rare books from unspecting bookstores, until a first edition of The Great Gatsby catches up with her.

Police officer Abby Dawson has seen the worst of society, and not just at work. The job she once loved has become a chore, the world isn’t any safer, and there’s no joy in her life. One fateful night a man’s innocent blood changes both Roxi’s and Abby’s lives forever. One searches for justice; the other finds herself on the run. Will the power of forgiveness set them free, or will they both remain bound by guilt?

Author Bio:  C.J. began writing the story that would become her first novel, Thicker Than Blood, when she was a 15-year-old homeschool student. Later it won the 2008 Jerry B. Jenkins Christian Writers Guild Operation First Novel contest. She has been in the antiquarian bookselling business for over 12 years, scouting for stores similar to the ones described in her novels before cofounding her own online bookstore. In 2006 C.J. started the Christian entertainment web site www.TitleTrakk.com with her sister, Tracy, and has been actively promoting Christian fiction through book reviews and author interviews. She makes her home in Pennsylvania with her family and their menagerie of dogs and cats. Visit her website at www.cjdarlington.com.

My Review: Have you ever made a choice in your life just to please someone and then find out that it didn’t matter what you did anyway you would never please that person? That is what happens to Roxi, a 16-year-old girl who struggles to find the love she never felt from anyone. In trying to do so, she makes choices that she regrets that unfortunately have adverse effects to everything she was trying to achieve in the first place. Roxi is a very likeable character that I can relate to, as I believe many others will also. I understand her lack of trust in people due to her past and her desire to just be loved. She’s trying to make right choices, but the more desperate she gets her choices do not seem to be going very far until a stranger named Jan sees her struggle and following her own instincts decides to follow what she feels God is calling her to do.

Roxi’s story made me cry at some points and rejoice in others. I felt the depth of her character with the raw emotions displayed in every choice she made and the thought process she went through. I would definitely recommend this book to my friends and even to teens. I also read C.J.’s first book, Thicker than Blood, and neither one of her books disappoint. Both are definitely worth anyone’s time to read. If you need a good book to travel with, relax with, or just enjoy a good story then Bound by Guilt will fit the bill.

I received a copy of this book to read and review from the author. My review is not biased by the fact that I was given this book. I HONESTLY read and review any book whether bought or given to me. If I did not like the book I would definitely not give a rave review or recommend it.

 

 

3 Responses to “Blog Tour for Bound by Guilt by C.J. Darlington”

  1. Courtney Melone Says:

    I’ve been interested in this book and it sounds like such a great story!! I have entered a drawing in hopes to win it! 🙂

  2. Thank you very much for posting this review, Patty! I’m really glad you enjoyed the story.

  3. kristenjewel Says:

    This sounds like a good book. I think I will read it.


Leave a Reply

